Setting Up For Success With HNGxZuri Internship

Setting Up For Success With HNGxZuri Internship

ABOUT HNG INTERNSHIP

The eighth edition of the HNG Internship is designed to surface the very best of candidates out of a large pool of participants. It is fast-paced and challenging and helps people learn how to work in teams, deal with pressure and quickly expand their knowledge.

HNGxZuri-Internship-home.jpg

LEARNING MATERIALS

Given that the internship will require participants to learn new concepts quickly and implement them on the go, I have bookmarked some online tutorial links that will help me in the remote internship.

Since I generally have to start from scratch or revisit some concepts during the course of the internship.

I’m going to be looking over FreeCodeCamp's HTML full course, then I’ll be moving on to getting a basic understanding of Javascript with FrontendMasters' Programming Fundamentals.

I could skip all these tutorials and binge-watch the courses on the Zuri Team Youtube playlist, which basically has all the resources in one place for the track (Frontend development track) I chose.

I'm also going to include a link to a Figma tutorial by Gary Simon in case I need to quickly go through how to use Figma again .

Given that collaboration will more or less come into play during this internship, there is every need to learn about version control and remote contribution while working in a production team. This will require me to learn git and GitHub; luckily for me, Traversy’s crash course on Git and GitHub has me covered, so no problem there.

RIDING OUT THE INTERNSHIP

The HNG Internship reminds me of my early days at the university. In the beginning, you meet many people, and you get to see a lot of fancy things that will take your attention, but as time goes on, you begin to see things clearer, and your focus becomes more streamlined. At least, that’s what I want my path in HNG to look like.

Eight weeks from now, I'm either going to be a finalist of the HNG Internship, or I would have dropped off during one of the stages, hopefully, the former, though.

You can track my contributions on GitHub on my GitHub profile and follow me on Twitter as I rant about how hard the internship is or celebrate with me as I pass each stage and celebrate the little wins.